COLORADO SPRINGS -- 15 members of the Boise State football team earned All-Mountain West honors on Tuesday.

Sophomore quarterback Brett Rypien, wide receiver Thomas Sperbeck, offensive lineman Travis Averill, offensive lineman Mario Yakoo, nose tackle David Moa and defensive end Sam McCaskill all were named to the first team.

But it was a junior running back left off the prestigious first team that has the conference talking.

The four-time Mountain West Offensive Player of the Week winner this season was notably absent from the conference's first-team roster.

Jeremy McNichols, who many expected to see on the conference’s first team, was left off for the likes of San Diego State’s Donnel Pumphrey and Wyoming’s Brian Hill.

McNichols’ slew of accolades includes:

  • Leads the nation in touchdowns (27)
  • Second in rushing touchdowns (23)
  • Mountain West leader in all-purpose yardage (2,185), receptions & receiving yards (32,450)
  • Third in the MWC in rushing yards (1,663), the third-highest in Boise State history.

His numbers also caught the attention of the Doak Walker Award committee, which honors the nation’s top collegiate running back. McNichols was named a semi-finalist for the award.San Diego State’s Donnel Pumphrey and Wyoming’s Brian Hill were also named semi-finalists.

Rypien earned his second-consecutive first team honor. He leads the conference in passing yards (3,341), passing touchdowns (23), completions (212) and passing years per game (278.4).

San Diego State swept three of the four individual awards, claiming Offensive Player of the Year, Defensive Player of the Year and Special Teams Player of the Year.

Senior running back Donnel Pumphrey earned his second-consecutive POY honor after he surpassed 1,000 rushing yards for the third consecutive year, only the fourth player in Mountain West history to do so.

Pumphrey also ranks sixth in the nation in all-purpose rushing yards per game, second in rushing yards & rushing yards per game and 12th in rushing touchdowns.

Senior defensive back Damontae Kazee earned Defensive Player of the Year honors, while Rashaad Penny was named Special Teams Player of the Year.

Third-year Wyoming head coach Craig Bohl was named Coach of the Year after leading the Cowboys to an 8-4 overall record, six victories more than the 2015 season.

In conference, the Cowboys went 6-2, the best conference season in Wyoming's history.

Freshman of the Year went to Wyoming linebacker Logan Wilson, who finished the season with 79 tackles, six tackles for loss, three sacks and three fumble recoveries.


Ryan Watson (Air Force) – DL

Weston Steelhammer (Air Force) - DB

Sam McCaskill (Boise State) – DL

David Moa (Boise State) - DL

Brett Rypien (Boise State) – QB

Thomas Sperbeck (Boise State) – WR

Travis Averill (Boise State) – OL

Mario Yakoo (Boise State) – OL

Fred Zerblis (Colorado State) - OL

Michael Gallup (Colorado State) – WR

Hayden Hunt (Colorado State) - P

Jahlani Tavai (Hawai’i) - LB

Alex Barrett (San Diego State) – DL

Calvin Munson (San Diego State) - LB

John Baron II (San Diego State) – PK

Rashaad Penny (San Diego State) – PK/KR

Nico Siragusa (San Diego State) - OL

Donnel Pumphrey (San Diego State) – RB

Damontae Kazee (San Diego State) - DB

Andre Chachere (San Jose State) - DB

Tau Lotulelei (UNLV) - LB

Chase Roullier (Wyoming) - OL

Brian Hill (Wyoming) – RB

Jacob Hollister (Wyoming) – TE

Andrew Wingard (Wyoming) - DB


Jalen Robinette (Air Force) – WR

Brodie Hicks (Air Force) - DB

Luke Strebel (Air Force) - PK

Jeremy McNichols (Boise State) – RB

Ben Weaver (Boise State) – LB

Chanceller James (Boise State) – DB

Jonathan Moxey (Boise State) – DB

Sean Wale (Boise State) - P

Kevin Davis (Colorado State) - LB

Jake Bennett (Colorado State) – OL

Jeff Camilli (Fresno State) - LB

Dejon Allen (Hawai’i) – OL

Austin Corbett (Nevada) – OL

Malik Reed (Nevada) – DL

Nik D’Avanzo (New Mexico) – DL

Garrett Hughes (New Mexico) - DL

Reno Henderson (New Mexico) - OL

Teriyon Gipson (New Mexico) – RB

Daniel Brunskill (San Diego State) - OL

David Wells (San Diego State) – TE

Malik Smith (San Diego State) - DB

Travis Seefeldt (Utah State) - DL

Josh Allen (Wyoming) – QB

Tanner Gentry (Wyoming) – WR

D.J. May (Wyoming) – PK/KR


Haji Dunn (Air Force) – LB

Tim McVey (Air Force) – KR

Colin Sandor (Air Force) – OL

Dylan Vail (Air Force) – OL

Steven Baggett (Boise State) – OL

Mason Hampton (Boise State) – OL

Tanner Vallejo (Boise State) – LB

Cedrick Wilson (Boise State) – WR

Nick Callender (Colorado State) – OL

Nick Stevens (Colorado State) – QB

Paul Thurston (Colorado State) – OL

Stratton Brown (Fresno State) – OL

KeeSean Johnson (Fresno State) – WR

Kody Kroening (Fresno State) – P

Trayvon Henderson (Hawai’i) – DB

Marcus Kemp (Hawai’i) – WR

Leo Koloamatangi (Hawai’i) – OL

Meffy Koloamatangi (Hawai’i) – DL

Jalen Rogers (Hawai’i) – DB

Rigoberto Sanchez (Hawai’i) – PK/P

James Butler (Nevada) – RB

Wyatt Demps (Nevada) – WR

Asauni Rufus (Nevada) – DB

Dakota Cox (New Mexico) – LB

Daniel Henry (New Mexico) – DB

Aaron Jenkins (New Mexico) – OL

Jason Sanders (New Mexico) – PK

Kyle Kelley (San Diego State) – DL

Quest Truxton (San Diego State) – PR

Michael Carrizosa (San Jose State) – P

Isaiah Irving (San Jose State) – DL

Jeremiah Kolone (San Jose State) – OL

Maurice McKnight (San Jose State) – DB

Christian Tago (San Jose State) – LB

Troy Hawthrone (UNLV) – DB

Mike Hughes (UNLV) – DL

Nathan Jacobson (UNLV) – OL

Will Kreitler (UNLV) – OL

Torry McTyer (UNLV) – DB

Austin Albrecht (Utah State) – OL

Ricky Ali’ifua (Utah State) – DL

Wyatt Houston (Utah State) – TE

Jake Simonich (Utah State) – OL

Austin Stephens (Utah State) – OL

Lucas Wacha (Wyoming) - LB