Breaking News
More () »

Toledo Walleye fall to Idaho Steelheads in Western Conference Finals | Kelly Cup Playoffs

After a blistering 8-0 start to the playoffs, the Walleye were unable to find the answer to the Steelheads withering offense for the entire series.

WTOL Newsroom

Play Video

Close Video

Published: 6:23 PM MDT May 15, 2023
Updated: 9:58 PM MDT May 27, 2023

It has been a stellar postseason for the Toledo Walleye. After dominant wins over the Indy Fuel and Cincinnati Cyclones, the Fish will now face the regular season record-breaking Idaho Steelheads for the Western Conference Finals.

The Steelheads notched 57 wins and 117 points during the 2022-23 regular season, surpassing the previous ECHL record of 56 wins, 116 points set in 2001-02 by the Louisiana IceGators.

As regular season champions, the Steelheads clinched the Brabham Cup and home-ice advantage throughout the entire playoffs.

For the Central Division champs, this means starting the series on the road yet again. But Toledo has been a force as visitors against home teams throughout the season, tying the ECHL record for most road wins in a single season with 26.

Head-to-head, Toledo did not play Idaho during the 2022-23 season.

While Toledo swept its prior two rounds, Idaho had a bit more difficulty on its way to a Mountain Division title, with the Utah Grizzlies stretching the first round to six games. Idaho wrapped up its second-round series against the Allen Americans in five games, setting the Steelheads up for a Fish vs. Fish matchup against the Walleye.

For more information on tickets throughout the 2023 Kelly Cup Playoffs, visit the Toledo Walleye website at this link.

The Walleye will also host watch parties at Fifth Third Field and Hensville Park. Tickets for Fifth Third Field and Hensville Park start at $5 or free with a Toledo Mud Hens ticket. Fans can also catch the game at Fleetwood's Tap Room for free.

Information on how to attend watch parties is available on the Walleye website at this link.

Before You Leave, Check This Out