Breaking News
More () »

Caldwell mayor race heads to runoff; Kling re-elected in Nampa

See live election results for mayoral and council elections in Canyon County's two largest cities.

CALDWELL, Idaho — Caldwell city council member and former state representative Jarom Wagoner has pulled ahead of four other opponents in the mayor's race, but that is not enough.

Five candidates threw their hats into the ring for Caldwell's 2021 mayoral election after current Mayor Garret Nancolas decided not to seek reelection.  

Wagoner secured the largest share of the ballot - 47% - with 2,236 votes. John McGee, also a council member and former legislator, and Chris Trakel each took 22% of the vote, while Nicole Hyland and Jorge Arancivia trailed with 7% and 2% respectively.

Election rules require that a candidate secure 50% of the votes, plus at least one vote, to be declared the winner. The mayor's race will now head to a runoff between the top two candidates: Wagoner and McGee, who bested Trakel by just 14 votes.

The runoff election is set for Nov. 30.

As of Wednesday, Nov. 3, Canyon County's elections office had not finalized polling places, including early-voting locations, for that runoff.

Since Nancolas took office after the 1997 election, the Canyon County seat has seen football return to the College of Idaho, the "daylighting" of Indian Creek, and -- like much of the Treasure Valley -- rapid growth, to name a few of the changes.

Between 2000 and 2020, Caldwell's population has more than doubled, from nearly 26,000 to about 60,000, according to U.S. Census figures.

Nancolas, Caldwell's longest-serving mayor, called the experience one he will "treasure forever." However, he announced in April that he would not seek a seventh term.

See the Caldwell mayor results below, and scroll down to see live election results for three Caldwell City Council seats, the Nampa mayoral race and three Nampa City Council seats. 

Wagoner and McGee were elected to seats 4 and 6 of the Caldwell City Council in 2019. Along with Chris Allgood, the council member in Seat 5, their terms are not set to expire until after the 2023 election.

Mike Pollard, Dennis Callsen and Robert Hopper each had three challengers in their bids for re-election to seats 1, 2 and 3, respectively.

In Nampa, incumbent Mayor Debbie Kling is headed to a second term leading Idaho's third-largest city. Kling captured 90% of the vote, beating opponent Jerrold Smith.

Also in Nampa, two incumbent city council members were running for re-election -- Victor Rodriguez for Seat 1 and Randy Haverfield for Seat 5.

See all of the election results for races across southern Idaho here.

Watch more Idaho politics:

See all of our latest political coverage in our YouTube playlist:

Before You Leave, Check This Out