Show Thumbnails
Show Captions

BOISE-- The lately-troubled, Big East Conference lost yet another future member as San Diego State University announced plans to remain in the Mountain West on Wednesday.

SDSUand Boise State had both originally pledged to join the Big East in July of 2013.

An interesting feature of the move: San Diego State's original contract with the conference included an opt-out if Boise State decided to exit. That means because Boise State announced its departure two weeks ago, SanDiego State doesn't have to pay an exit fee.

The MWCand SDSUreleased a joint statement just before 3 p.m. detailing the new plans.

For now, that means the Aztecs will remain in the MWCin all sports.

MWC Commissioner Craig Thompson said the move made sense both geographically and from the standpoint of historical game-play.

As a charter member of the Mountain West, San Diego State has decades of history and tremendous competitive rivalries with our member institutions, Thompson said. With today s announcement, SDSU s membership continues uninterrupted and helps the Mountain West maintain a solid foundation going forward.

With the addition of San Jose State University and Utah State University on July 1, 2013, the Mountain West will currently be comprised of 11 all-sport members and 12 football-playing institutions. The Mountain West membership also includes: the United States Air Force Academy, Boise State University, Colorado State University, Fresno State, University of Hawai i (football only), University of Nevada, University of New Mexico, San Diego State University, UNLV and University of Wyoming.

Read or Share this story: