Otter: No federal relief for 5 Idaho counties

BOISE - Gov. C.L. "Butch" Otter says the federal government has once again rejected his request for disaster aid for five counties in Idaho, denying millions of dollars to help pay for the harshest damage of this year's severe winter floods and storms.

A letter from the Federal Emergency Management Agency dated Tuesday says that the agency stands by their original decision that supplemental federal assistance is not necessary based on a review of the state's capabilities.

Otter expressed frustration with the agency's decision, but said that he is exploring every option to help Ada, Canyon, Custer, Payette and Washington counties recover from the winter destruction.

Last month, Otter signed a disaster declaration for 11 other counties in southern Idaho.

© 2017 Associated Press


To find out more about Facebook commenting please read the
Conversation Guidelines and FAQs

Leave a Comment